## MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE SOCIAL CIRCLE BOARD OF EDUCATION January 9, 2020

Chairman John Callahan called the meeting to order at 6:30 PM with six members present: Ms. Sabrina Sanford – Flint, Mr. Michael O'Conor, Ms. Lowana Bell, Mr. Rico Jackson, Mr. Steve Trantham, and Mr. Randy Carithers.

Voting Members Mr. John Callahan, Chair Ms. Sabrina Sanford-Flint, Vice Chair Mr. Steve Trantham, Board Member Mr. Rico Jackson, Board Member Mr. Michael O'Conor, Board Member

Non-Voting Members Dr. Robbie Hooker, Superintendent Ms. Lowana Bell, Board Member Mr. Randy Carithers, Board Member

On a motion by Mr. Jackson, seconded by Ms. Sanford-Flint, a unanimous affirmative vote was made to approve the agenda. Voting: Mr. John Callahan, Chair Ms. Sabrina Sanford-Flint, Vice Chair Mr. Steve Trantham, Board Member Mr. Rico Jackson, Board Member Mr. Michael O'Conor, Board Member

On a motion by Mr. Jackson, seconded by Ms. Sanford-Flint, a unanimous affirmative vote was made to approve the minutes of the December 12, 2109 meeting. Voting: Mr. John Callahan, Chair Ms. Sabrina Sanford-Flint, Vice Chair Mr. Steve Trantham, Board Member Mr. Rico Jackson, Board Member Mr. Michael O'Conor, Board Member

Board Comment Section: Chairman Callahan thanked everyone for coming to the meeting. Chairman Callahan discussed the role of a Board Member. Chairman Callahan went over details regarding the Retreat with the City. Chairman Callahan gave an update on the Zone 5 Agreement with Walton County.

Ms. Sabrina Sanford-Flint and Ms. Lowana Bell gave an overview of the conference that they attended in Austin, Texas, along with Superintendent, Dr. Robbie Hooker. The Schlechty Center facilitated the training they received.

Redskin Awards were presented to: Kalayah McAmis, SCPS; Kaitlyn McDaniel; SCES; Montana Archer, SCMS; and Jeffrey Cohenour, SCHS.

Chairman John Callahan called a short break so that guests could leave the meeting if they wished to do so.

On a motion by Mr. Trantham, seconded by Ms. Sanford-Flint, a unanimous affirmative vote approved the monthly financial report as presented.

- Voting:
- Mr. John Callahan, Chair
- Ms. Sabrina Sanford-Flint, Vice Chair
- Mr. Steve Trantham, Board Member
- Mr. Rico Jackson, Board Member
- Mr. Michael O'Conor, Board Member

CFO, Mrs. Nicole Cross, gave an update on contributions made from Freshway Change for Schools.

The Superintendent presented reports on but not limited to:

- Active Count
- Superintendent Comments Superintendent Dr. Robbie Hooker thanked CFO, Mrs. Nicole Cross and her team for updating the format of the Financial Report. Dr. Hooker extended kudos to the staff and faculty for the job that they are doing in working with our students to insure that they are learning at the maximum level engaging our students and involving all stake holders to ensure our students will continue to be the top, not only in the state of Georgia, but the nation. Dr. Hooker ask Dr. Booher to present the school calendars. Dr. Carrie Booher presented proposals on the 2020-2021 and 2021-2022 Schools Calendars. Dr. Hooker welcomed Mr. Steve Trantham and Mr. Michael O'Conor to the Governance Team. Dr. Hooker mention that today was Law Enforcement Appreciation Day and thanked our SROs and Social Circle Police Department. Dr. Hooker reminded everyone that we will start our five-year strategic planning, January 16, 2020, at 6:00 PM for the Community Engagement Meeting at the Middle School Activity Center. Monday January 20<sup>th</sup> all students and staff will celebrate Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s birthday and February we will start the celebration of Black History Month. Dr. Hooker thanked the Governance Team for being committed to reaching our goal of becoming a high performance School District.

On a motion by Mr. Jackson, seconded by Ms. Sanford-Flint, motion passed unanimously, the Board approved 2020-2021 and 2021-2022 school calendars.

On a motion by Mr. Jackson, seconded by Mr. Trantham, motion passed unanimously, the Board approved the 2020 Board Meeting Dates.

On a motion by Mr. Jackson second by Ms. Sanford-Flint, motion passed unanimously, the Board approved Dr. Carrie Booher be appointed the coordinator for Title I and Title II, Mrs. Laurie Allison be appointed coordinator for Title VI and XI, and Dr. Christina Sneed as coordinator for 504 and ADA for the year 2020.

On a motion by Mr. Trantham, seconded by Ms. Sanford-Flint, motion passed unanimously, the Board approved the selection of Harben, Hartley and Hawkins, LLP as the board attorneys for the year 2020.

Nominated by Mr. Jackson, seconded by Mr. Trantham, motion passed unanimously the Board approved the election of Ms. Sabrina Sanford-Flint as the Vice-Chair of the Board for 2020.

On a motion by Mr. Jackson seconded by Ms. Sanford-Flint, motion passed unanimously, to continue with, Robert's Rules of Order as the order of Proceedings for 2020.

On a motion by Mr. Jackson, seconded by Ms. Sanford-Flint, motion passed unanimously, to continue with, the Bank of Social Circle as the Fiscal Depository for 2020.

Nominated by Ms. Sanford-Flint, seconded by Mr. Trantham, motion passed unanimously, the Board approved the election of Mr. Jackson as the Legislative Liaison Delegate for 2020.

Nominated by Mr. Jackson, seconded by Ms. Sanford-Flint, motion passed unanimously, the Board approved the election of Mr. Trantham as the Legislative Liaison Alternate for 2020.

On a motion by Mr. Jackson, seconded by Ms. Sanford-Flint, a unanimous affirmative vote was made for the Board to enter Executive Session to discuss personnel issues. On a motion by Mr. Trantham, seconded by, Ms. Sanford-Flint a unanimous affirmative vote was made for the Board to reenter regular session. Voting:

Mr. John Callahan, Chair Ms. Sabrina Sanford-Flint, Vice Chair Mr. Steve Trantham, Board Member Mr. Rico Jackson, Board Member Mr. Michael O'Conor, Board Member

On a motion by Mr. Jackson, seconded by Ms. Sanford-Flint, a unanimous affirmative vote was made to approve the following personnel actions:

Voting:

Mr. John Callahan, Chair

Ms. Sabrina Sanford-Flint, Vice Chair

Mr. Steve Trantham, Board Member

Mr. Rico Jackson, Board Member

Mr. Michael O'Conor, Board Member

Retirement Certified Staff: A. Laura Smith –SCHS CTAE Teacher (End of School Year 2019-2020).

On a motion by Mr. Jackson, seconded by Ms. Sanford-Flint, a unanimous affirmative vote was made to approve the following personnel actions: Voting: Mr. John Callahan, Chair Ms. Sabrina Sanford-Flint, Vice Chair

Mr. Steve Trantham, Board Member

Mr. Rico Jackson, Board Member

Mr. Michael O'Conor, Board Member

Recommendation Classified Staff: A. Amy Adamo - SCPS – Pre-K Paraprofessional – 2019-2020 School Year B. Patricia Lenora Wheelis - SCHS – Special Education Paraprofessional

Terminated: A. Deborah Caldwell – SCHS School Nutrition Worker

There being no further business to be brought before the Board, a motion to adjourn was made by Mr. Jackson, seconded by Ms. Sanford-Flint, a unanimous affirmative vote was made to adjourn. Voting: Mr. John Callahan, Chair Ms. Sabrina Sanford-Flint, Vice Chair

Mr. Steve Trantham, Board Member

Mr. Rico Jackson, Board Member

Mr. Michael O'Conor, Board Member

John Callahan, Chairman

Dr. Robbie Hooker, Secretary